The RANZCOG 2023 Regional Symposium consisted of a two-day pre-meeting workshop program, held on Thursday 30 March and Friday 31 March, followed by a two-day scientific program, held on Saturday 1 and Sunday 2 April 2023 at Hotel Grand Chancellor, Hobart.

The scientific program featured a mix of sessions across the Obstetrics and Gynaecology specialty, including important updates on regionally focused programs for RANZCOG members practicing in regional, rural and remote areas, as well as a trade exhibition. A Breakfast Masterclass was hosted on the first day of the Main Program of the meeting and a Lunch and Learn Session held on Sunday 2 April during the lunch catering break. The social program included Welcome Reception, President’s Appreciation Dinner and the Regional Symposium Meeting Dinner.  No virtual component was made available for delegates.

The meeting was attended by 250 delegates.

The Regional Symposium featured:

·       2 days of plenary sessions and panels

·       42 invited speakers and one free communication presentation

·       4 pre-meeting workshops

·       12 sponsors and exhibitors

·       128 accepted abstracts

·       103 e-posters were displayed in the plenary room during the main catering breaks and were also available on the Meeting app

·       17 Static posters were available for viewing onsite in the main plenary room

awards and scholarships

Best Free Communication was award to Michael Fahy for the presentation titled Placental Cord Drainage versus Delayed Cord Clamping at Elective Caesarean Section: A Randomised Controlled Trial

Best Static Poster was awarded to for Prashanth Naidoo Clinical for the presentation titled Evaluation of Standardised Iron Deficiency Screening and Management within an Australian Regional Population - A Retrospective Cohort Study

Scholarships were awarded to:

Dr Ulai Tapa Fidow - RANZCOG NSW State Committee Pacific ASM Scholarship
Dr Margaret Tarere Lehi RANZCOG Queensland State Committee Pacific ASM Scholarship
Dr Kiarere Tiaon RANZCOG Victoria/Tasmania State Committee Pacific scholarship
Dr Petrossian Tovirika RANZCOG Women’s Health Foundation Pacific Scholarship
Dr Willie Trane RANZCOG Women’s Health Foundation Pacific Scholarship

The awards were presented by RANZCOG President Dr Ben Bopp, during the meeting closing session.